Tunisia or officially Republic of Tunisia. Tunisia is the smallest country in North Africa. It border with Algeria and Libya and it has coastline on Mediterranean Sea. Tunisian are is about 166 km2 and it have population under 10,7 million. Capital and the largest city is Tunis. Tunisia is member of African Union, Arab League, and Arab Maghreb Union and has association agreement with European Union. Tunisian climate is temperate in north part of country. It has dry and hot summers with mild rainy winters. The south part of country is desert. As regards politics Tunisia has a constitutional republic with president as head of state, prime minister and bicameral parliament. As regards economy Tunisia today is an export oriented country in the process of privatizing and liberalizing economy. Official language is literary Arabic but spoken languages are Tunisian Arabic, French and Berber. Mostly of population is Arab Berber and small percent are others. As regards religion majority are Muslims, then goes Muslims and then Judaism. As many African country Tunisia also has mixed and rich culture due many conquerors through the history. They are: Romans, Vandals, Phoenicians, Byzantines, Turks, Arabs, Spaniards and French. They all live a mark on Tunisian culture.



Capital town:


Largest city:


Official languages:



163,610 km2


10,732,900 (2012)

Flag of Tunisia



Djerba is the largest island in North Africa. Located off the coast of Tunisia and in the Gulf of Gabs. With mild climate it is a tourist destination for vacation.