LUXEMBOURG is one of the smallest European countries (area of 2586 square kilometres) situated between Belgium and Germany. It borders on these two countries and France on the south. Luxembourg has a population of approximately 494 000 people. Offical languages are French, German and Luxembourgish. It is governed by the Parliament and constitutional monarch, ruled by the Grand Duke.